Djokovic will be preparing to win a record-breaking 7th ATP Finals title

Jarnel Dhillon
Jarnel Dhillon
Djokovic coming into the Finals off a 18-match winning streak.

Joker toots his own horn

The six-time champion has not shown any signs of fear as he approaches  the Finals in Turin, he sent a message to his rivals reminding them that he has only W’s on his record since the Wimbledon final. 

News Insights

  • Djokovic going for record breaking 7th title to overtake Federer.
  • Finals are held in Turin for the 3rd year in a row.
  • Alcaraz making ATP Finals debut
  • Djokovic entering the Finals with no defeats in almost 4 months.

The ATP Finals are always a highly anticipated event in the calendar, it crowns the ‘best of the best’ at the foot-end of the season as the players will take a break until the pre-Aussie Open season. Alcaraz has notably only made a next-gen finals appearance - therefore it will be his senior debut. Perhaps, we can look to expect another Djokovic vs Alcaraz clash as the two rivals have set themselves head and shoulders apart from the tour. 

Fire in the belly

Since the brutal Wimbledon final loss to rival Carlos Alcaraz, Djokovic has been flawless in the running to the final senior ATP competition of the year. Winning 18 matches consecutively, picking up a Paris Masters 1000 title along the way - no opponent will come tougher than Djokovic on the indoor hard courts of Turin.

How do the finals work?

The top 8 players of the ATP tour are selected to participate in the prestigious event. The 8 players are: Novak Djokovic, Carlos Alcaraz, Daniil Medvedev, Jannik Sinner, Andrey Rublev, Stefanos Tsitsipas, Alexander Zverev and Holger Rune. They will be divided into two groups of 4 and play round-robin matches. Until the top 2 of each group advance into the semi-finals, to which a final will be decided and the winner will be crowned on the 19th November. 

Who has won before?

We have four previous winners of the ATP Finals in this year’s selected eight. Novak Djokovic (6 times), Alexander Zverev (2 times), Daniil Medvedev (1 time), Stefanos Tsitsipas (1 time). Zverev has won both of his finals, and Tsitsipas winning his only final. Medvedev has won one final and lost one final, while Djokovic holds a 6-2 record in ATP Finals. Spaniard, Carlos Alcaraz will be 2nd favourite for the title despite never making an appearance.